Author Topic: Teaching in retirement?  (Read 3874 times)

less4success

• Stubble
Teaching in retirement?
« on: July 05, 2021, 10:21:19 PM »
delete
« Last Edit: September 28, 2021, 09:45:20 AM by less4success »

BrendanP

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Teaching in retirement?
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2021, 11:03:25 PM »
Full-time teaching is exhausting and something to retire from not retire to.

It's really a grind, plus you should have proper education and training.

Consider being a paid sub or being part of an after-school or enrichment program.

My background is 10 years teaching math and computer science In NYC HS.

MrThatsDifferent

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2021, 11:23:03 PM »
Teach HS or younger? Hell no! Nightmare. But teaching at community college or above, sure, that’s fun and manageable. You just need experience.

desk_jockey

• CM*MW 2023 Attendees
  • Bristles
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2021, 12:18:43 AM »
Teaching?  Yes, in some context. I don’t know that I’d do well in the structure of a public or religious K-12 school. But I am drawn to some aspects of sharing knowledge and facilitating learning with others.  Maybe I feel it will fulfill my transcendence needs as Maslow described them.

What will that look like for me?… instructing CED classes, training corporate participants, being a scout master, …?

LonerMatt

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2021, 12:39:18 AM »
I think the flexibility of retirement could allow you to mitigate some of the more draining aspects of the work. Namely, if you were able to work PT that would keep you engaged but not over-worked. I think that (as a former teacher myself) there's an unsustainability to the workload and emotional labour that you could potentially smartly side-step :)

Pigeon

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2021, 04:07:17 AM »