Author Topic: Taxes backwards, how can I make sure I pay enough? Anyone else done this?  (Read 16503 times)

dsmexpat

• Stubble
I'm in my first year of working in the US so I've not yet had to pay taxes (no income 2014) but I'm studying the tax code for fun. It's a system with a complicated set of rules but one which can be broken down and optimized. The problem I'm running into is that my wife and I don't have huge incomes and the conventional strategy of tax minimization, where you try and pay as little as possible, is far from optimal for us. We were both eligible for the retirement savings contribution match, we were eligible for EITC but we'd tax deferred too much of our income and hadn't paid enough in tax to actually use our credits.

What I think I need to do is assume that AGI is a variable, depending upon how much we defer to retirement accounts, and therefore tax owed is a variable. I need to match the taxes owed to the credits available (which also vary by AGI) to have as much as my income classified as post-tax as possible without actually paying tax due to credits. Most of the strategies in the FI community that I read about here are rules which will generally apply for incomes above a certain level (such as T IRA > ROTH IRA) but things get really weird in the low income areas where the effective tax rate can go into the negatives and a completely different set of strategies apply.

Anyone tried to solve this before? Maybe with an obscenely complicated spreadsheet?