Author Topic: Taxes  (Read 7620 times)

Stacheintraining

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Taxes
« on: March 16, 2014, 01:14:23 PM »
Hi All - Sorry if this is a repost... but with April 15th coming up, how do you all file your taxes? What software/service do you use? This is my first year filing independently so I want to get it right, preferably without spending any money.

Thanks!

bikebum

• Pencil Stache
Re: Taxes
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2014, 01:21:12 PM »
I use Free Tax USA. Federal is free, state is about $10.

Fletch

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2014, 01:25:43 PM »
If your income is below $30k Turbo tax is free, otherwise I used the $20 version this year. I think you can file free directly at IRS website (at least the 1040 EZ? maybe I'm just imagining this), but that probably takes more time and research to make sure you don't miss anything.

kkbmustang

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2014, 01:27:49 PM »
We use TurboTax. Ours is about $100 but that includes the business version and allows us to generate 1099s and W-2s.

G-dog

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2014, 02:40:58 PM »
If your income is less than about $50K, the United Way and the IRS run a free tax (fed and state) prep and e-filing program called VITA.  If you are over 65 (?), there may not be an income limit.

The preparers are trained, and the return is audited by experts before filing.  The teams are well versed in getting you the best return possible.  I volunteered 2years ago and learned that income taxes for lower income folks can be really complicated!

The program has sites in various locations, check online for a location near you.

Nothlit

• Bristles
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2014, 03:13:37 PM »
TaxAct.com has a free federal e-filing option regardless of income. Some states operate their own free e-filing system. Mine does (Massachusetts).

Joel

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2014, 04:32:59 PM »