Author Topic: Tax Advantaged vs Non  (Read 4031 times)

Mikeshollen

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Tax Advantaged vs Non
« on: March 07, 2015, 08:56:30 PM »
Hello! I am new to the MMM forums. I am trying to decide how to determine where to put the money I save each month. I recently got a new job that will enable me to max out a 401K and a ROTH IRA every year with a little left over to pay off my car and start saving beyond the tax advantaged accounts. My plan is to save up enough to put down payments on rental properties with 30yr fixed mortgages and positive cash flows ($75k single family homes is the goal). I figured I would try to acquire 9 of these financed (you max at 10 and my primary residence is financed), then try to buy about 5 or 6 in cash, then use the cash flow to pay down the financed portion of the mortgaged rentals (thus decreasing risk as I get closer to financial freedom). The income less expense from 15 of these seems like more than enough to retire on.

So my question is, with only $500-$1000 a month to put towards buying these rentals, should I slow down the 401k? I love how passive index funds are and I feel wasteful not saving on as many taxes as I can, but I can't use that money until I am 59.5 and I can probably get the real estate portfolio built 10-15 years sooner than that.

rtrnow

• Bristles
Re: Tax Advantaged vs Non
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2015, 08:20:09 AM »
If you are saving for down payments in the next few years, then I wouldn't have that invested in stocks tax advantaged or not.

As for accessing 401k money before 59.5, look around the site. 72t, roth conversion. It's pretty easy to get to that money without penalty once you have left your job.

Cheddar Stacker

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2015, 08:30:16 AM »
Max the 401k, skip the Roth, now you can buy your first rental quicker but you are still taking advantage of deferrals. And yeah, a Roth Pipeline or 72t will get you early access to 401k so don't worry about that.