Author Topic: Talk to me about severance: Can I negotiate during site closure?  (Read 3955 times)

homestead neohio

• Pencil Stache
    • Journal - Seeds Sprout
This is my first time being laid off after 16 years in my industry across 3 different corps, so I've never negotiated severance.  Was planning to stick it out in my current job until FIRE, MegaCorp had other plans.  Timing is fine, I'm cool with it, just want to get all I can out of this opportunity.

Relevant details:
I've always been considered a strong performer and taken on additional responsibility in individual contributor roles.  Technical SME, not supervisor/manager.  I have direct experience with core products that will be transferred to other sites.

I was offered a relocation job that was not attractive to me, so I declined and will be offered severance and retention bonus, last day of work end of Dec 2017.  I'll be one of the last people on site, many depart in June or Sept.  I'm waiting for official docs to confirm verbal dollar amounts, I have signed nothing at this time.

My questions:
Can I negotiate my severance or retention bonus up?  I've read articles that say yes, but how does this work in practice?  Make rational arguments or pull on heartstrings?  I made a list of reasons why my product and process specific knowledge is essential to transferring products to other sites, just don't know if they'd agree or care.  I think my chances are better than some colleagues based on getting a relo offer where most did not and having a Dec date, but don't know if this is a false hope.  What are people's experiences when involved in site closures?

ekimatuan

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Talk to me about severance: Can I negotiate during site closure?
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2016, 09:03:28 AM »
I've been through a number of layoff events over the years, only bit by one though when they closed down an entire location. I think it *might* be possible to do some negotiation but I've never seen it work.