Author Topic: Talk to me about my unemployment options  (Read 4870 times)

COEE

• Pencil Stache
Talk to me about my unemployment options
« on: May 06, 2017, 09:44:10 AM »
I have recently found myself among the unemployed due to a company RIF.  Ironically, this is also a time with one of the lowest unemployment rates in American history.  I already have two phone interviews lined up next week.  Because of this, I'm not too concerned with finding a new job or getting a competitive salary.  But I have a few questions that perhaps getting some outside input might help with.

I'm an Electrical Engineer with 10 years of design experience in aerospace and IoT sectors.  I'm mid-career.  I have about 6 months of liquid emergency fund and my wife's salary will contribute another 3 months.  I was counting on unemployment contributing another 3 months - for a total of 1 year of cash.  If I count all of my non-real estate assets - I can get by about 4 years before I run out of money - but that would clear out all of my retirement funds.  I also have another 3 years of equity in my house if I need to sell.  I live in an area with many high-tech white-collar jobs within 30 minutes of my home and many more within an hour commute of my home.

1.  I have mentioned on my linked in profile that I have been terminated due to no fault of my own and that I have a letter of recommendation from my supervisor.  Is this good idea?  I think it's good from the standpoint that I've addressed the end date of my employment, but it might effect my negotiation for salary if they think I'm desperate - which I'm not.