Author Topic: Take the safe path, or pursue a dream? Share your stories!  (Read 5693 times)

lifejoy

• Magnum Stache
  • Lovin' the Mustachian life!
    • Not Buying This
Take the safe path, or pursue a dream? Share your stories!
« on: January 23, 2016, 11:57:32 PM »
I'm currently working two jobs: middle management at a retail store, and selling diamonds and creating jewellery (I work as a consultant, and set my own appointments).

The management job is teaching me valuable skills, and pays ok. It relates to my degrees. I don't love it but I don't hate it. The hours and the contagious nature of my boss's stress are my biggest complaints.

The jewellery store job is great. My passions is selling jewellery: it often marks a meaningful time in someone's life, and I adore being involved in this process. I am also learning how to use software to create jewellery designs. I am in heaven.

Here's the rub: I am often so exhausted from the retail job, that I don't have much time or energy to devote to the jewellery job. I'm also eating out more because I'm working 7 days a week, double shifts, and cooking is sometimes just not what I have energy for.

So.... I'm tempted to take a risk. Quit the safe job, focus on the gamble, see how it pans out. Risky, but this is the right time in my life for a risky move. No kids yet, and a supportive husband who makes enough money for the two of us. The last time I worked full-time in jewellery sales, I came home with a smile on my face... Every day. Perhaps that's worth it. Or perhaps life is about doing hard things, and finding ways to get through it. The retail management job could open doors. I'm not sure what I should do.

But I don't think I can do two jobs much longer.

Please, tell me your stories of perseverance, or of risky adventures where you followed your passion!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Noodle

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Take the safe path, or pursue a dream? Share your stories!