Author Topic: Take The Job?  (Read 2150 times)

diesel

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Take The Job?
« on: November 21, 2017, 02:26:37 PM »
Hi All,

I know this may be tough to answer but I want to get some advice from some wiser, more experienced members.

While not actively searching for a job, (but always keeping an open mind) a connection set me up with an interview.  I just got a call and I got offered the job.  I am having trouble deciding what to do as I'm not in "I need out of this job" mode.

A little about the situation:
I am a lean manufacturing engineer.  28 years old and live-in girlfriend (plan to be wife)
Currently working at a plant in Mississippi.
I work for a fortune 250 corporation that is a great company.  I completed a 2 year rotational program where I moved around every 6 months so I have built quite a network.  Generally speaking the rotational program puts people on a good path to management.  After the rotations I accepted a position here in Mississippi and have been here for ~1.5 years (so a total of 3.5 years with the corporation).  While the corporation is great, the particular division I am in has been in a transition period and I am starting to feel a bit stagnant.  I am ready to advance my career and feel I have a high ceiling here since it is such a large corporation with so many options but at the moment there is no clear path.  A couple of the people that hired me have since left the corporation.

New offer:  Another manufacturing facility in Tennessee (a place I have always wanted to live)
It is a subsidy of another very large corporation but the bulk of this one's operations are over seas.
I would be looking at a considerable pay raise (roughly 30% or $20k+) as well as a manager title with direct reports.