Author Topic: Take first (and low/not ideal) unexpected job offer or wait?  (Read 2315 times)

ebella

• Stubble
Take first (and low/not ideal) unexpected job offer or wait?
« on: December 10, 2018, 03:13:00 PM »
I am a lawyer currently working in a short-term position clerking for a federal judge that's up this summer.  Next year I'll be making $97k/yr before taxes/benefits and I owe $83k in federal student loans.  What I thought was a casual networking thing turned into an offer to start at a small firm in January with a salary between 120-140k and possible annual bonus of 10% of that.  So just shy of $160k max.  They also pay 3% of salary into 401k.  It's a small labor and employment firm that relies primarily on 2 clients, 1 in auto parts, which makes me nervous for stability.  Also I want to make $180k, so I can pay off my loan in 1 yr, and be at a larger firm, so I have more exit opportunities when I leave.  I don't want to be a partner at a firm doing this kind of work. I've run the numbers through my spreadsheet and, my current expenses remaining modest and stable (which they will, except maybe property taxes and HOA will go up), I won't be able to pay off the student loan in 1 yr with that salary.