Author Topic: TABLETS: Need a good one for reading/annotating text documents, pdfs  (Read 910 times)

ObviouslyNotAGolfer

• Pencil Stache
I am a scientist and spend a lot of time writing and teaching (university). Hence, I require a lot of time with the peer-reviewed literature in an attempt to stay current. About 99.99% of this literature is in the form of PDF documents. For years, I insisted on printing these out because I don't like reading large blocks of text on screen. However, recently, I have been experimenting with reading these on-screen, and I have come to really appreciate the lack of need for printing, storing, organizing hard-copy versions. Of course, I can also make the text and figures as large as I want, and this counteracts eye-strain. I also like the prospect of taking my entire pdf reprint library with me anywhere I go.

I am now looking for a tablet so that I can have on-the-go capability and not be tied do my desktop system (Grandpa box) or laptop.

First and foremost, I need a machine that will be good for reading and annotating pdf documents, including highlighting, underlining, and writing comments. I have to have color, as most figures/tables/graphs are in color now. I suppose this will need to have a stylus of some kind for the annotation. My wife is curious to use it as well, and so, secondary considerations for us include web-browsing, and high quality display for sharing photos (I am also a photographer). We also want to cut down on our hard-copy magazines/subscriptions, many of which pile up unread!

What would you suggest? (I do not want an iPad or i-anything!)

Thanks! 
« Last Edit: May 26, 2020, 04:01:18 PM by ObviouslyNotAGolfer »

Fru-Gal

• Handlebar Stache
Why not ipad?

Microsoft Surface is much improved from what it used to be

raincoast

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Why not ipad?

Microsoft Surface is much improved from what it used to be