Author Topic: T minus ~5 years FIRE?  (Read 3010 times)

Gumption

• Stubble
T minus ~5 years FIRE?
« on: April 14, 2017, 08:59:05 AM »
Anyone out there looking for FIRE in about 5 years? If so, are you doing anything differently?

I am socking as much as I can in 85/15 VTI/VBLX.

Seeing as how a downturn will happen, I am thinking i need to divert some funds to start building up a 2-3yr cushion to feed off of in order to let portfolio heal when that happens.

So close yet so far away... its a frustrating stage as I would love to start saying "no" to current work.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2017, 09:14:33 AM by Gumption »

Gumption

• Stubble
Re: T minus ~5 years FIRE?
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2017, 10:35:08 AM »
Thanks for your reply Steve. Appreciate you taking the time.

In reality, I will still do some work in FIRE (I'm an independent consultant, working from home;) but I don't really want to factor that in there with my assumptions.

We live in Boulder, CO and prop values are ridiculous and keep going up. Part of my FIRE plan involves cashing this out, downsizing out of state, and using the extra proceeds as a buffer from a downturn.

Ideally, the portfolio would not be touched too soon in this scenario, so that's why I'm a bit more aggressive on the VTI.

jhcollins seems to promote going 100% VTI up until day 1 of FIRE and then maybe put in 20% bonds....but we all have different situations I guess.

5 years is a ways to go, but I am just putting all this out there to see what others have done.

boarder42

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2017, 10:45:26 AM »
Dont try to time the market.

I'm 100% stocks about 5-6 years out.  i'll switch to 90/10 at my FIRE date most likely. 

Gumption

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2017, 10:57:12 AM »
appreciated. I don't feel that I am trying to time the market; but really, one can't assume FIRE at any particular date because (if invested) who knows where your portfolio will be.