Author Topic: Surrendering/ReHoming Pets  (Read 46064 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Surrendering/ReHoming Pets
« on: January 27, 2015, 12:44:24 PM »
Does anyone know of an organization that you can pay to take your pets and they guarantee placement for them?

All of the places I find will do their best, but often are forced to euthanize. 

If we were willing to pay someone to take our pets (and pay for their care), how could I go about finding that?
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

dbunny

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Surrendering/ReHoming Pets
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2015, 12:52:46 PM »
I would be nervous about offering to pay someone to take your pet. They could just be a random person looking to make a dollar and they end up taking them to one of the shelters that euthanizes them. I have never heard of an organization that will take payment to take your pet, but you could ask about paying for your pet's adoption fee in advance to increase their chance of being adopted.

There are many strictly 'no kill' animal shelters but they are usually local so you might just have to increase your search area.

Spondulix

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2015, 12:54:19 PM »
I second a no-kill shelter. There should be no fee, and some will even have anonymous dropoff locations.

V

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2015, 12:55:02 PM »