Author Topic: Suggestions for where to live around Washington D.C.?  (Read 2011 times)

MilitaryMM

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Suggestions for where to live around Washington D.C.?
« on: June 26, 2018, 11:18:49 AM »
Long time voyeur, first time poster here.  I apologize in advance for the long post.

I have, what I think, is an upcoming great opportunity to live in a world class city while simulatneously adding some serious padding to my stash.

I'm a military officer and I'll be re-locating to work in the Washington D.C. area next year.  Since I don't know the area, I figured I would reach out to this community for recommendations and some insight.  I'll be making some assumptions based on popular bias, so feel free to correct me on any of these if they're out of touch with reality.

Baseline Info:
- I'll be working in Suitland, MD, otherwise known as the ghetto (so says everyone), just outside the SE quadrant, so living within walking/biking distance isn't necessarily an option.  Even if I live just outside the area within biking range, is it really safe to be riding around that area on a bike?  Same question regarding the metro.  I could live somewhere along the metro line, but is the metro stop in that area safe?  Even late at night if I have to work late? Plus I've heard the metro is getting expensive and can take a while if you're not within a few stops of your destination.

- I'll be receiving a housing allowance of about $2900 per month.  Sounds like a lot, but if you've looked at housing around D.C. you know that might not get you very far without a commute (which I would like to avoid).  That being said,  I can pocket the difference between the allowance and what I pay for rent (hence my perceive opportunity).

- Looking to rent, but not necessarily opposed to buying.  I like to buy at different duty stations and keep the properties as rentals, but given how expensive the current market is in that area, it doesn't seem like a good idea.