Author Topic: Stumbled Upon a Corporate Memo Stating I Might Get Fired...Need Some Advice  (Read 13664 times)

ReadySetMillionaire

• Handlebar Stache
I contemplated posting anonymously, but oh well. Long post ahead, but the summary is that I found a memo stating that I might get fired and I'm looking for some advice on what to do short and long term. For any attorneys who have PM'd me before--I welcome your PM's and/or posts in this thread. So, onward...

Please do not quote this original post because I likely intend to delete it. Thank you for your understanding.

I graduated from law school in 2014 and have been at a well-respected firm since September of 2014. I was hired so a partner could transfer his ERISA practice to me. To make a long story short, he can't delegate work to save his life. And then, because a lot of other attorneys assumed he was giving me work, work dried up for me at the end of last year and I had pretty low billable hours in 2015. This resulted in a "talking to" by the firm's board of directors at the end of last year.

I've since had a much better 2016. I'm on pace to bill substantially more hours, I've been more enthusiastic at work, etc. I've also made it a point to be "me" more of the time--outgoing, sarcastic here and there, etc. I even painted and redecorated my office (with the board's permission), grew a beard, started wearing a bit more modern (but still very traditional) dress clothes. I think being "me" has resulted in a better attitude and thus a better work product.

But last Friday, I was searching our document system for my time sheet. I searched by my name and saw that my name was mentioned in a memo drafted by the firm's "Long Term Planning Committee." Being a curious dumbass, I opened this document. There was a section which read, in part: