Author Topic: Studying in Germany (state sponsored education)  (Read 3870 times)

cptnemo

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Studying in Germany (state sponsored education)
« on: October 05, 2014, 03:39:12 AM »
Hi there!

I am fairly new to the whole MMM-thing - but it got me seriously thinking about my (prior) plan of education.

The whole college/degree-question has been discussed here quite extensively as my searches indicate. But I don't live in the US - so my entire situation is quite different from what is usually discussed here...:

The situation: I am 28 years old and live in Germany.

(That part is important for what follows. ;) In Germany college is paid for by the state. That means the education is free. And you even get an interest free credit by the state of which you have at most to pay back 10k. The state gives you 680 Euro each month: 50% you need to pay back - but at the most 10k. Again: a) you get a free education (no tuition or fees) and b) you get a huge amount of money for free from the state to live off - while the small amount (max. 10k) you need to pay back is interest free and you have 20 years time to do that...)

So, the question is not should I study - but what should I study... ;)

I have traveled a lot and worked in different areas - without a degree. At the moment I am doing college prep-courses that are a requirement here in order to go to college. That's all fine and I am doing very well at that. I am nearly done with that and would now have to chose a college course to follow up on it.

Previously I had settled on psychology and a training in psychotherapy. But the whole education last between 8-12 years (college + training) and training costs between 20-40k Euro. So, from a mustachian point of view: Pretty stupid.

What else can I do?