Author Topic: Student Loans or Index Funds?  (Read 4368 times)

Cool Friend

• Pencil Stache
Student Loans or Index Funds?
« on: June 06, 2018, 12:26:33 PM »
Hi,

I graduated college right before the recession hit (2008), and long bouts of unemployment made me into an almost pathologically frugal person. Not that I was a big spender before, but the kind of outlook I found on this site recently is very encouraging to me.

Two years ago I finally got a job that allowed me to put my student loans on autopay ($350/month, on what is as of this day a $28,000 principal with 5.125% interest), and I also was able to pay an additional $4,500 towards my loans at the end of last year.  I only eased up on my unemployed spending habits a smidge since getting this job, and so I now find myself with $23,000 in my savings account.  I know, I know--what on earth is that doing in a savings account?  That's why I'm making this post.

I've never had this kind of money in my life, and I have a lot of anxiety and fears about financial emergencies (I grew up in a very volatile, unstable home, but I'm trying to grow past these fears).  So my inclination until now has been to just keep it guarded in savings, which I know is not sensible, since I could be taking advantage of index fund dividends or at least turning the tide against compounding student loan interest.  I remember from MMM blog posts that the general advice is to eliminate debt as fast as possible before investing.  But how aggressively should I pay it down?  How much of my savings account should I keep on hand?  Should I invest at the same time?  I guess it's a weird mental hurdle for me, because to me an index fund = the money is still mine if I need it and paying down debt = the money is gone forever.

Other possibly relevant factors
1. I have no other debt
2. I'm single and have no children