Author Topic: Student loans on the horizon -Help Wanted-  (Read 8572 times)

Kev

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Student loans on the horizon -Help Wanted-
« on: May 12, 2014, 12:09:28 PM »
Hi everybody,

When I graduated from college, I consolidated some of my loans with Affinity FCU and got a lower interest rate, from 6% to 2.5%. I couldn't include some of my loans(DOE Sallie Mae) and it's a variable rate but it's been working out very well for me so far.

In 6 months my girlfriend will have to start making her loan payments which comes out to around $900/month (over $100k total). With her current income, she's going to have a hard time paying that $900/m so I was wondering what options she has to: extend the total years of payments for now until she gets a higher income, consolidate for a lower interest rate, both, or anything! I have to find out what type of loans she has and their interest rates but any advice? suggestions? things to avoid? I would tell her to consolidate with Affinity like I did but they cause more trouble for me than they're worth.

Quick edit: With her 30k salary she CAN support her loans but with her other living expenses (gas, insurance, cell, etc.) it's going to be rough saving as much as she'd like to put towards her high interest loans. I'm looking for a way to get lower interest rates to reduce the total cost over time and possibly extend the years(I know extending will end up as a greater cost in the end but it may be necessary for now to knock out the highest interest rate loans sooner).
« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 02:27:27 PM by Kev »

nawhite

• Handlebar Stache
    • The Reckless Choice
Re: Student loans on the horizon -Help Wanted-
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2014, 12:43:34 PM »