Author Topic: Student Loans: Avoiding the Hole!  (Read 4442 times)

SkaterStudentSaver

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Student Loans: Avoiding the Hole!
« on: July 01, 2014, 08:49:47 PM »
I dont know how detailed I need to be, this is my first post on this forum.

I've read a ton of MMM blog and love every bit of it. Avoiding the rat race is my number one goal, I have happiness due to outdoor lifestyle so I dont need to pay for it.

Here's the quick bit...

I'm 23, live in Santa Cruz CA. I'm a college student, just finished community college for undergrad engineering (sc). I took Every single math/physics/engineering/chemistry class they had to offer and now I'll be transfering to a university to get a degree in Renewable Energy engineering (portland OR). It looks like I have about 3 years left until bachelors degree. Each year will be about $11,000 in tuition.

My money

Hiding nothing, I'm out on the table, asking for advice.

about 12 G's in the hole currently from student loans (-12,000) [don't know interest rates or really anything about it, borrowed it when I wasn't a mustachian.]

about 1000 in the hole on credit card and constantly getting shafted by the late fees and missed payments, don't even know when my payments are due. (-1000)

most my money goes to food, travel. I quit drinking so I don't have the expense of partying anymore...

other than that, lifes good..... but I have this ever impending doom of this college degree thing.

How the F@#$%$CK am I going to pay for it???

Whats the best way to pull it off?

Student loans seem unavoidable for me, but I dont want to SHAFT myself. Whats the hit list on How to Do student loans the RIGHT WAY? staying ontop of interest so it doesnt accumulate, etc etc....