Author Topic: student loan quandry  (Read 3873 times)

janelikes

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
student loan quandry
« on: April 07, 2017, 12:21:06 PM »
Hello - Newish to MMM, been Dave Ramseying it for 4 years. No current credit card or car payment debt (woohoo!)
I got a fancy degree that doesn't pay much money. I'm working at a non-profit and hoping to utilize the public service loan forgiveness program (https://studentaid.ed.gov/sa/repay-loans/forgiveness-cancellation/public-service)I am on year 3/10. I owe 200,000 at 7% and am paying $195 a month under income base repayment (I know).
I have fear that PSLF will be taken away and I'll have worked in a low-paying job to qualify for a program that will not exist when I need the pay off. We are currently paying off my husband's 23,000 student loan debt with about $3000 a month.

My options:
1.) hope for the best, stay at my job, rainbows will fly out of my butt in 7 years and it will be OK.
2.) Go to the private sector, make more money, pay it off asap
3.) save for the bubble that will burst in 20-25 years, continue paying debt based on my income and work wherever I want.

If option 3 - how do I know how much to save since I'll have to pay income on what is forgiven?

Thanks friends, and yes you may verbally smack me on my student loan decisions, but what's done is done, so please just help :)

Cole

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: student loan quandry
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2017, 06:07:09 PM »

In my opinion you should go with option 2. You know for a fact you will make more money in the private sector. There is no guarantee the government will keep public service loan forgiveness around.

Edit: You are only on year 3/10. How much more would you make in the private sector? If it adds up to close (or over) 200K in the 7 years you have left then it's a pretty easy decision.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2017, 06:09:50 PM by Cole »

MarioMario

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2017, 10:47:45 PM »