Author Topic: Student Loan Battle  (Read 6750 times)

diesel

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Student Loan Battle
« on: November 22, 2016, 07:49:12 AM »
Hi all,

I've been dabbling in the mustachian life for a couple years but I have decided it is time to get a little more serious about it.  The first mountain I need to climb is student loan debt.  Full disclosure I did the very un-mustachian thing and borrowed a lot of money for college.  I now have several different loans through several different servicers all with different interest rates.  I have decided to take action on the loans by refinancing and/or consolidating them.  My question is this.

Should I consolidate all the loans to have on payment and lock in a possibly slightly lower weighted interest?  Or should I keep them all separate so as to be able to free up cash flow as I go for investing etc? (and probably have a lower overall interest).

I attached a summary of all of the loans broken down as small as I can.

Thank you all so much in advance for your help now and in the future!

« Last Edit: November 22, 2016, 07:51:19 AM by diesel »

LadyStache in Baja

• Pencil Stache
    • My Casa Caoba: Making meaning in Mexico
Re: Student Loan Battle
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2016, 07:54:14 AM »
eek, that 15k loan at 8% interest looks tough! 

I would look at what kind of rate you can get if you consolidate.  Consolidate only the loans whose current rate is higher, especially the 6-8% ones!

I would leave the 3% loans.  That's a great rate (as far as I know).

notactiveanymore

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2016, 08:14:36 AM »
I would absolutely recommend looking into refinancing the private loans. Those interest rates are rough.

Are the federal loans on IRB? How much extra do you have to put to the loans?