Author Topic: Student Investing in Canada  (Read 2987 times)

allisonn

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Student Investing in Canada
« on: August 18, 2015, 05:47:17 PM »
I am going into my third year of university and have 8670 of provincial and federal student loans. I have one year after this one and will not need to take out loans this year and there is a very good chance this will be the same for next year. That being said I inherited 2000 from my grandma's estate that I want to invest in Vanguard VFV or VUN. The thing I want to know is what would be the best investment account to open and with who? I currently have investment accounts at RBC and Tangerine and am considering RBC Direct Investing because I would not be buying the funds often enough that I would worry about the 9.95/trade fee. However I'm looking for some educated feedback because I'm new to MMM

lostamonkey

• Bristles
Re: Student Investing in Canada
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2015, 06:37:39 PM »
Are you sure you want to invest the money and not add it to your emergency fund? If you are living alone and paying your own tuition, you should have an emergency fund. If you are living with your parents and they are paying for school you don't really need one. There is no shame in living with your parents and having them pay for school.

If you want to invest, I would recommend that you invest in your TFSA. This way you will not be taxed on dividends and capital gains. You can open a self directed TFSA with RBC direct investing and buy whichever ETFs you want. Just make sure there are no other account charges associated with RBC Direct Investing. If you wanted a cheaper option, you could always use Questrade but if you are more comfortable with a big banks, using RBC is fine.

allisonn

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2015, 06:58:02 PM »