Author Topic: Stir Crazy Software Coder Seeks Clarity  (Read 5515 times)

neo von retorch

• Magnum Stache
    • Fi@retorch - personal finance tracking
Stir Crazy Software Coder Seeks Clarity
« on: August 12, 2014, 12:15:25 PM »
I've been doing web application development for 15 years. I had a job I really enjoyed for over 5 years, but I wasn't getting much for raises (average 1% per year) so I accepted an offer elsewhere. That was at the end of 2011. So less than 3 years later and I'm on my 4th job! I've been here 2.5 months, and I'm already going mad. I keep looking for greener grass. I believe I need to work somewhere that...

• I interact with people regularly rather than sit in an office or cubicle alone with my computer
  • I have some influence on product/software/interface design rather than just executing on specifications
  • I have flexibility on schedule - i.e. I can start at 9AM or a little later if need be to ensure my energy levels are healthy
  • Little or no commute - five to fifteen minutes was not bad but anything over that, especially on the highway is maddening

I thought the current job would work mostly because of the technology being used, but because of how limited I am in what I build, I'm learning very little and exercising no creativity at all.

What do I do? I'm far from FIRE (8-9 years) at my current salary. I've been job-hopping like a mad man.

I've had lots of ideas on starting my own web application development company, combining enterprise development for small and medium sized businesses with ideas I have for building software as a service. I've done freelance in the past, but have really struggled with it lately because I feel so drained after my day job. So I've had a hard time growing my freelance.