Author Topic: Step-kids very part time - vehicle selection??  (Read 2068 times)

mustacheinthemaking

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Step-kids very part time - vehicle selection??
« on: June 30, 2019, 11:18:50 AM »
My husband has 3 kids from a previous relationship (age 9, 11, 13), and I'm pregnant with our first together. I drive a 2-door Pontiac G5 2010 given to me (new at the time) by my grandfather when I finished my Masters. My husband, age 45, has never learned to drive (long story), but now has his learner's. He's gotten by with riding the bus, walking and biking his whole life and isn't even that keen on driving, but with a baby on the way, I think it would be helpful, especially since right now I'm doing all the driving when we pick up his kids (4 hour one-way), drive them back to us, drive them back home, and drive ourselves back. That's 16+ hours of driving in a long weekend sometimes. We've also stayed at Airbnb's in their city, but often my family and some of my husband's family (who live closer to us) want to see the kids for holidays.

My car currently has 260,000km (in Canada) and eventually will need to be replaced with something (It has so many km's because for years I did a ridiculous commute of 1.5-2.5 hours one way to work). I have 2 jobs now, both of which I can walk to, and my husband takes the bus. He's looking for a new job with better pay (especially with baby on the way), but right now he takes the bus. He'd probably bike to work most of the time if he could, but winters here are pretty brutal. We'll only ever have one vehicle.

In terms of hobbies, we like biking and camping. My husband would also love to get into kayaking as we live near tons of water. He's worked for 10 years in the outdoor gear industry.