Author Topic: Starting Over/New Career  (Read 12498 times)

smartcookie

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Starting Over/New Career
« on: June 17, 2012, 09:40:32 PM »
Hi All - I am seeking some advice on how to start over with a new career or expand on the one I have.   The reason I am seeking a new career is because I do not make enough money to support myself in my current geographic location (Washington, DC), and my profession is saturated with too many graduates clamoring for too few jobs, so there has been a decrease in compensation, too.  As well, my current job is only available in a few select cities, like NYC, Washington DC, Chicago and LA, and I would like to have more flexibility to live elsewhere and to live for less.

I am currently an attorney making roughly 75K a year, and I have been out of law school for 10 years now.  Note that my salary was 110K (plus full benefits) in 2002, but I took a paycut just to be employed after a layoff in 2003.  Washington, DC, is a very antimustachian place where the average rent for a one-bedroom apartment easily hits 1600 per month, and a single-family home in a decent area starts at 600K.  My current employer does not pay for health insurance nor do they provide a 401K plan.  I am almost finished paying off my student loans of 100K - yeah!!!

If you have any suggestions for a second career for a single professional in their early 40s, I would love to hear them.  Also, I would be interested in anyone's feedback on living a mustachian life in North or South Carolina.

Thanks!

Fuzz

• Bristles
Re: Starting Over/New Career
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2012, 11:39:53 PM »
You've got an interesting situation. I think your options partly depend on what kind of law you practice. If you work in some sort of heavily regulated industry like insurance, finance or oil and gas you could look for a position where your substantive knowledge ties you in.