Author Topic: Starting from Essentially Zero (but not in the hole!)  (Read 4614 times)

apstone

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Starting from Essentially Zero (but not in the hole!)
« on: August 27, 2012, 03:27:48 PM »
Hey all, my uncle, who is FI and has always owned his own businesses, turned me on to MMM's blog back in October, and I have been following ever since.  This forum is great, good to bounce ideas off like-minded people.  I look forward to offering advice on the DIY forum, as I am a carpenter by trade.

Anyways, my wife and I are both young people (I'm 26, she's 23) but have always worked, etc.  We are already pretty frugal, which is a little hard here in Canada with a high COL.  I am American, and unemployed now while waiting for my residency papers to come through.  I worked under the table for a while, and am going to be starting a new project for our landlord, which will carry me through to legalization, where I have a secure job waiting.  My wife is an art teacher at a children's art studio, also a stable job.

The problem is, these jobs are relatively low paying.  She is at $15/hour, and I will be at ~$20/hour.  Works out to about $4500/month.  Our rent is $850, and we are renting a large garage on the property for an additional $425, which we will use as a workshop for me and as an art studio for her.  She will be running some classes to help offset the cost for the space.

Other expenses are in check:  Even with me not earning any money now, we only have to dip into the savings for purchases liek dog food (70$/6 weeks).  When I am working, we will be able to live on my salary alone, thus saving 2k/month, or about 45%.  We have NO debt, although we both own cars.  She needs hers to get to work in a different city, and I need my truck for work.  Her's is a 99 corolla that gets 30mpg, and mine is a 98 4Runner that I get 21 mpg out of.  Not ideal, but necessary.  No CC debt, no student loans, nothing.