Author Topic: Starting a Craft Hobby - Consumer Sucka or Money Well Spent?  (Read 6959 times)

Susurrus

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello, everyone! For context, I'm a college student right now, so I don't exactly have much discretionary money. However, I do get $450 in my pocket every month, about 75% of which is going towards funding my Roth IRA.

I first became interested in card-making as a hobby about a year ago, and for a month or so I was watching videos online and squealing over supplies at fancy crafting stores - BUT I didn't actually buy anything. I told myself I would end up losing interest quickly and then I would feel massively guilty about the wasted money (probably around $150 to get the supplies I wanted). So I convinced myself to empty my online shopping cart and wash my hands of the whole affair.

Last week I saw a nice embossing machine for only $35 instead of the usual retail price of $60, and I jumped on it. Then I repeated last year's fun adventure of teaching myself all about the art of card making from Youtube tutorials, and now I have ~$200 of supplies waiting in my online cart again.

My question is this: If I'm almost positive I'll get a lot of enjoyment from exploring this hobby, is it a reasonable purchase? I've been agonizing over this for about a week now, and then I had the brilliant idea of posing it to the MMM community. So help me out here, guys!

TL;DR - I've wanted to try card-making on and off for about a year now, and I'm agonizing over whether to take the plunge and spend about $150 on supplies to do so. Should I, or am I just being a Consumer Sucka?

Thanks in advance for your time and advice! :)

asiljoy

• Bristles
Re: Starting a Craft Hobby - Consumer Sucka or Money Well Spent?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2015, 06:36:14 AM »
I'm not sure what's in your cart, but Craigslist seems to have a lot of stuff from people who've abandoned their scrapbooking hobbies. Maybe their loss is your gain?