Author Topic: Starting a co-housing rental/group house, how did you do it?  (Read 1887 times)

Habilis

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Starting a co-housing rental/group house, how did you do it?
« on: November 15, 2016, 09:11:59 PM »
Hi,

Looking to put together a rental house where I have one room and 2-3 other tennants rent the others. I am a renter myself in a 1BR apartment at present and primarily want to reduce my rent expense, but it would also be nice to have some of the amenities of a house: garage, backyard, fireplace, etc. MMM talked about renting a house then renting out rooms to tennants month-to-month as a great way to save money. I've never done this before and looking to learn from folks who have.

Can anyone who has done this let me know how they did it?

What did you work out with the landlord (many leases prohibit subleases, for example)?

What sort of rules did you run the house by?

How did you find and chose your tennants?

Any other lessons-learned you'd pass on?

Thanks,

Handy

Anagnorisis

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Starting a co-housing rental/group house, how did you do it?
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2016, 09:52:38 PM »
Hey Handy!

I've rented a room in my house for the last six years.  This year I moved my bedroom to the office, with a loft bed, and am now renting both my main bedrooms.

I began renting off of craigslist, but didn't have great experiences. Everyone always paid, but there were some uncomfortable behavioral issues.

I use roommiematch now.  The site and service are both a little clunky, but the two roommates I've found through it have been great.  It feels a bit like online dating for housing situations.  There is a fee for the full service.