Author Topic: Starting a charity? - the charity thread got me thinking  (Read 10431 times)

reverend

• Stubble
Starting a charity? - the charity thread got me thinking
« on: August 03, 2012, 12:24:42 AM »
I've always wanted to start a charity.  It may sound sappy and like a crock of sh!t, but I have had an amazingly good live with travel, great friends and experiences. I don't make a lot of money, and I am not particularly excited about what I do for a living.

The last year or two, related to my lacking excitement with work, the idea of starting a charity has grown on me. I've googled, poked and prodded those I know.  Now, there are plenty of charities for cancer research, poor people, children, illnesses and all sorts of things, so I don't know where I could find a bit of a niche where I can do good.

What it boils down to is that I really have no idea (other than theoretical concepts from googling) what all is involved in starting a charity, fundraising and then getting to the great part - helping those in need.

So am I just a sanctimonious bastard for trying to give myself a feel-good karma point by doing something like this? Would I be better off donating to other charities instead? Volunteer or find a paying job for charities? Hospitals?

Has anyone started a charity that pays for itself and enough to sustain your own food and shelter (living wage)?  Care to share the pitfalls and tips/tricks?

I have thick skin, so feel free to tell me it's a boneheaded idea.

gooki

• Magnum Stache
    • My FIRE journal
Re: Starting a charity? - the charity thread got me thinking
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2012, 01:44:26 AM »
Sounds like a good idea.

My tip on how to find your niche, go out into your community, find people that need help and see if you can help them. After a few months of doing this you'll discover in what ways your help is most appreciated. Then focus on that area, start tracking costs and demand.

kisserofsinners

• Bristles
    • Monkey wants a house