Author Topic: Starting a Business  (Read 5394 times)

CptPoo

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • I play music and stuff
Starting a Business
« on: March 15, 2012, 06:37:49 PM »
I'm going to be graduating from college this May, and I want to try starting my own business this summer while I am waiting for grad school to begin in the fall. I am looking to do in-home residential computer technician services, which I have about 4 years experience doing. There isn't a whole lot of equipment that I need to buy, and I will be looking to have about $1,000 to start this at the beginning of May.

I will not be relying on the income from this business to sustain myself and my wife, because I currently have three other part-time jobs that provide the money we need, so I won't be desperate to get clients. With that said, I still would like to have a relatively steady stream of work, ideally somewhere between 5 and 10 hours a week.

With all of the wonderfully smart people in this community, I was wondering if anyone out there had some mustachian pointers for starting a business.

Bakari

• Handlebar Stache
  • Veggie Powered Handyman
    • The Flamboyant Introvert
Re: Starting a Business
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2012, 10:22:18 PM »
I started by advertising on Craigslist services offered section.
Initial start up costs: 0
First job at $10/hr (+$1/mile + expenses), 2nd at $15, after the first week at $20.

My only eventual start up cost (done after a couple months of working) was registering a fictions business name.
I never bought a tool that wasn't paid for fully by the job I was buying it for until 2 years in, at which point I also first invested in a domain name and server space ($25/year), as well as signs for my truck.
I taught myself enough html that I could make my own website instead of paying someone (biodieselhauling.org)
Soon after that I applied for and received green business certification.
With that, and a few years experience, raised rates to $30/hr