Author Topic: Spend less or earn more or maybe both?  (Read 6852 times)

lackofstache

• Bristles
Spend less or earn more or maybe both?
« on: September 24, 2013, 09:55:34 AM »
backstory:

I'm 29. I work my wife is a SAHM for our two children; ages 5 & nearly 3.

I graduated w/ a BFA (I know, I know, but very little debt to do it) in 2008. My wife (then friend) and I decided it best for her to stop school when she became pregnant, I, too was in school and we were in seperate towns. She was borrowing $ to stay in school, also going for a BFA.

I've worked several jobs since graduating, sometimes as many as 4 at once, but currently have only 1 full-time job. My wife works 2 days a week at a local farm co-op which brings us lots of fresh veggies, chicken & pork.

I will make ~$60K this year at my current gig, with about $5K coming in from design jobs on the side.

My wife was diagnosed w/ cancer in late 2012, has recovered nicely, everything is fine at the moment. We were ok financially until 2011 when we decided to buy a home, since then, we've been able to save very little. When she was diagnosed in 2012, I started spending like crazy, somehow a mental reaction to the circumstnaces and a change in thought about length of life and what it meant to "do what you want" while you're here.

Anyway, since June, we've rebounded and got some fresh goals w/ obtaining freedom.

where we are financially:

Debt:
Mortgage: $83K ($570/mo includes tax, insurance & stupid stupid PMI)
car: $7000 ($268/mo) 2006 Mazda5, low miles, averages about 25 mpg city
student loan me: $3K ($60/mo @ 3%)
student loan her: $8K ($110/mo @ 6.25-7.5%)
loan from brother: $8K ($234/mo @ 4%)

Bills:
Phones: $100/mo for two (part of a family plan, will switch when the break even point for cancellation fees works out; about 6 months from now)
Internet: $43/mo
Gasoline: $100/mo
Car Insurance: $20 & $45/mo
Life, health, etc insurance: $200/mo