Author Topic: New in the US of A ... need advice - banking and credit score  (Read 10477 times)

MrSal

• Pencil Stache
New in the US of A ... need advice - banking and credit score
« on: January 19, 2015, 11:10:07 AM »
Hello fellow mustachians and spartans*

I am seeking your advice! I am a new resident in the US of A, where I came to the country about 3 months ago. For this past 3 months I was unable to work or even open a bank account due to the fact that I didn't have a SSN. Well low and behold, that after 3 months !! (talk about bureaucracy) I finally have my SSN.

Now I'm in need of advice.

First: Which banking account do you recommend? I come from Portugal where the banking system is really advanced and from what I've seen here in the US, the banking seems to be subpar. Nonetheless, the ones I've looked that seem good and offer many services for free are CapitalOne and Capital360. Now here comes the confusion... aren't these two the same supposely? And if not, what differs between these two?

Any other banking services you recommend? I'd like a banking where I pay NO maintenance fees, nor other fees for withdrawing money etc and that its' online platform is sound and robust (I hate having to go to an agency), where you can use all their services at the click of a button.

Past the banking thing ... being a new resident with no history... I assume I have no credit history whatsoever! Nor credit history/score is something that exists in my country so this is new to me...

So my question is.... how do I build one? What should I do to have a good score? Any tips/methods? My "sheet" is a blank canvas as of now...

Thank you in advance

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
Re: New in the US of A ... need advice - banking and credit score
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2015, 11:25:01 AM »
welcome MrSal to the USA and (recently) to these forums.