Author Topic: Software developers: what does a great post-FIRE project look like?  (Read 3825 times)

damyst

• Stubble
I work as a software engineer, still a few years away from FI. Fortunately, I LOVE creating software. I expect to continue doing so for many years to come.
Having FI would mean the ability to work on whatever project I want, whenever I want, for however long I want. That's awesome! But I suspect that I'll be more motivated, and ultimately happier, if my projects end up generating some sort of revenue.

I've been trying to come up with a (subjective) list of characteristics for great post-FIRE software projects. Here's the crux of it (leaving out requirements that are optional or easily satisfied):

1. Generates some income.
2. Generates only modest demand for customer support, and can be walked away from completely without inflicting pain on others. I'd be wary of selling a product or service that people depend on for their livelihoods, since I may not be able/willing to support them well enough. I'm also not looking to do contract work.
3. Can be scaled up (to generate more income) or down (to take up less time).

There are different ways to make money selling software. Some are probably more suitable to the RE lifestyle than others.
Is it best to set up free web-based services and rely on ad revenue? Sell subscription-based online services? Create mobile apps? Build traditional desktop products? Something else entirely?
I'd love to learn from the experiences of those who have been there, or had thought along these lines.

Metric Mouse

• Walrus Stache
  • FU @ 22. F.I.R.E before 23
Re: Software developers: what does a great post-FIRE project look like?
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2017, 05:37:37 AM »
As a topic I have almost no knowledge of, I'd love to hear more about this.

scottish

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2017, 09:01:27 AM »