Author Topic: Software developer, regularly burning out, would like insight from others  (Read 6909 times)

moustacheverte

• Stubble
So I've been a software developer for about 5 years now. I studied business but went into software because I loved it as a hobby. I learnt a ton and I am very grateful for the high salaries (even in Canada) and the stellar employment prospects.

However: In the last 5 years, I've worked at about 5 different companies. Every time, it ended with me burning out and taking a couple of months off (sometimes up to 6 months!)

I realize this is bad for me, and even though the companies were messy startups, I can't help but think there is a pattern. And so I'm thinking that maybe this isn't the right job for me?

What I love about programming:
- Dreaming things up and materializing them. Software can do a lot of things, it feels like a super power being able to put together flows or application that do in a few seconds what would take hours or years for a group of people to do
- Writing robust and tested software makes me feel like all is well with the world. I know my function is well written and I'm confident it can take almost any data you can throw at it without crashing; and if it does crash because of invalid input, it will do so garcefully
- Having something that bothers me or wastes my time because it isn't automated, and being able to turn it into a small program to make my life easier. Feels like hacking the system in a way that's very powerful

What I dread about programming: