Author Topic: So many thoughts..had to write them down  (Read 4758 times)

COlady

• Bristles
So many thoughts..had to write them down
« on: April 17, 2018, 10:19:00 PM »
I'm a CPA in public accounting. I work 4 days per week during busy season and 3 days in the off season...I have 2 small children.

On March 5th my dad decided life was too much to handle. He shot himself. Totally unexpected...he was (I thought) the strongest person I knew. I drove 5 hours to where he was and we took him off life support two days later. Worst week of my life to date. I returned home a week later and sat down with the partners at my office. I was overwhelmed with dealing with my feelings about my dad and also the fact that I'm executor of his estate. They asked me how much work I could do...I said this week I can commit to two days. The next day I was pulled into the conference room and told that they hired a temp to take my position through tax season.  I could work the two days a week I committed to but a temp would be working the other days. (I was only talking about the week I returned, not all future weeks but I didn't argue). They assured me that this was though 4/15 to take the pressure off and that it would be business as usual after 4/15. Today I went into the office and they told me they were letting me go. Some bullsh*it about "not needing my services". I was mad but at this point in life after what I've been through in the last month I couldn't even muster up words. They gave me 3 weeks severance and paid out my 50 hours of vacation.  I told them to put 100% of my final check in my 401k for a net $0 check (my way of telling them I didn't need this fuck*ing job anyway...)

Now my ego feels bruised and WTH, do you have a soul? Who fires someone immediately after they go through something like that? No, your business wasn't my top priority when I received the news about my father....