Author Topic: So... Im in need of a car!  (Read 13752 times)

MrSal

• Pencil Stache
So... Im in need of a car!
« on: June 08, 2015, 06:40:56 PM »
With finally a job after my move from Europe I am now in need of a car...

Since I have no experience with cars on this side of the ocean I have no idea which brands are more reliable and so forth... in Europe VW is usually the to go brand for reliability and cheap parts but it seems its not so here!

What do you recommend for a reliable, cheap, and good gas mileage? My commute is 18 miles each way per day.

I live en Central PA and was budgeting to around 2500-3000 max !! Not that i cant afford hhigher but to me it seems such a waste!!

Opinions are welcome as well as places to look into buying them... dealership or sale by owner? what portals online are good to look for cars?

tks

Retired To Win

• Handlebar Stache
  • making the most of my time and my money
    • Retired To Win
Re: So... Im in need of a car!
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2015, 06:48:03 PM »
I strongly recommend that you look into buying an older vehicle.  If you make the right selection and take care of it once you've bought it, you'll have great transportation AND save yourself a boatload of money.

I drive a 1996 Dodge Dakota (142,000 miles) and my wife drives a 1998 Subaru Forester (243,000 miles).  Both cars have proven super reliable and have done everything anyone could reasonably expect any vehicle to do (including 2000-mile-plus round trips).  And owning these older vehicles has helped us build our FIRE stashes much faster because we didn't have to allow for the purchase or upkeep of a newer vehicle.

So... don't jump into buying something new (or even semi-new) until you've taken a good look at the older vehicle alternative.

MrSal

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2015, 07:06:06 PM »