Author Topic: So...could I become a software engineer? Currently a mechanical engineer...  (Read 8191 times)

i_am_the_slime

• 5 O'Clock Shadow

I'm a little curious about my prospects as a software engineer.  I graduated from college in 2005 with a mechanical engineering degree and have been an ME for 8 years.  I was actually 1 class away from a computer science minor and in the past 8 years I've written 2 large pieces of custom software (VB.NET - GUIs and databases (ADO.NET)) for my employers.   1 project was rolled out to about 50 engineers and got great reviews. 

I know VB and C++, but most importantly (I think) I've got an analytical mind and I understand the fundamentals - I could learn the syntax of a new language quickly (and have) and I am good at problem solving (bug squashing).  Could I swing it as an entry level software engineer?  What would be my best bet? 

footenote

• Pencil Stache
  • MMMing in MN
Crap, I was an English major and I learned to code. You have everything you need, you just need to bone up on one or two popular languages and get your feet wet. (Ruby is red hot round these parts right now. Experienced Ruby dev contractors are fetching $100 / hour. And they don't care what your degree is in - or if you even have one. One extremely successful Ruby guy I know was a college dropout.)

Btw, you have a unique benefit in deep understanding of MechE that only adds to your resume!

BlueMR2

• Handlebar Stache
Go for it!

What you should learn first depends on your area.  In the Great Lakes area of the USA, right now it seems to be mostly .Net, Java, and Groovy with a little PHP and iOS.

AnonymousCoward

• 5 O'Clock Shadow