Author Topic: Small Claims - Got ripped off..  (Read 5854 times)

cbr shadow

• Bristles
Small Claims - Got ripped off..
« on: November 01, 2012, 03:59:04 PM »
So I've sat on this problem for a while now and on my BIKE to work this morning I had an epiphany.. I'd post it here!

An aquaintance of a friend (I'll call him MIKE) deals with maintaining forclosed homes for the bank up until the bank sells those properties.  He'll update the interior, get rid of pests, lawn maintenance, etc..  I am an engineer during the day, but I'm always willing to work my ass off to make a side buck, so I emailed the guy and said I'd be willing to take on any jobs he has.  He explained that I'd get paid 30-45 days after the work was done, which I agreed to.
So last summer I ended up taking on a lot of jobs for him, mowing lawns, changing out locks, cleaning the interior of the houses, clearing gutters, clearing out some NASTY trash, etc.  The checks were slowly coming in, mostly on time, and I was continuing to make a good amount of extra cash. 
Here's how it worked..
1) Mike emails me and tells me what needs to be done and gives me an address.
2) I check out the address and give Mike a price, he agrees, I do the work
3) I take before/after pictures of the work I do, create a nice invoice and put everything in a PDF.
4) I send the PDF to Mike and I wait for my check
5) Sometimes I'm paid by the bank directly, sometimes by Mike directly.  I paid taxes on this money when I filed.