Author Topic: Small Business Tax Strategies - What You Can Deduct, Good Books, Etc  (Read 5752 times)

RusticBohemian

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hey guys.

I've been running a small business for a few years now, but I need to get a better handle on the tax angle, because I know I'm leaving some cards on the table.

I'm wondering if there are any good books or other resources you've enjoyed for teaching you about maximizing business tax savings.

Suggestions?

Thanks.

sideways8

• Stubble
My uncle is an accountant and my dad ran his own business for many years so I've been spoiled with experienced advice (even though my small business is entirely different). What is your business specifically? I've only read a couple of books but there were very specific to my business which is independent music teaching.

I'm HORRIBLE with tracking my expenses so what I've done is I've created a 2012 Business Expenses folder in my gmail. When I order stuff online for my business, I move the email receipt into that folder. If I buy something in person, I scan the receipts and email them to myself to be put in that folder.

RusticBohemian

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I run a raw food website teaching people how to lose weight, overcome diseases, and become health. I do raw food coaching, sell books, etc.

One question I have is buying raw fruits and vegetables wholesale. Now, of course this food is for me to eat.

But I'm always testing recipes, etc, which has a business angle, so I wonder if I could justify those wholesale fruit and vegetable purchases

sideways8

• Stubble