Author Topic: Skiing after college.  (Read 7691 times)

ARG

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Skiing after college.
« on: February 14, 2013, 03:56:55 PM »
Hello.

So I am currently in my last year of college (graduating in the fall). I love to ski/snowboard. I would like to start practicing more mustachian principles in my life. Except, once I graduate I want to work until I can retire early and still be able to ski. I was just curious. Should I work a little longer to build up enough money to fund my skiing habit for the rest of my life? I purchase season passes and always go 2-3 times more (mostly more) than needed to pay itself off. I am hoping to live within 2 hours of a ski resort after of college (somewhere in the PNW probably).

Thoughts are appreciated.

Kriegsspiel

Re: Skiing after college.
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2013, 05:10:30 PM »
Are you asking whether or not to continue doing something you love?

CNM

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2013, 05:20:20 PM »
Well, the answer is yes.  You shouldn't give up things you like to do just for the sake of retirement.  Personally, the whole reason I want to retire is so I can pursue my hobbies.

You can making skiing more affordable if you want.  I have been a downhiller for a long time, but I picked up cross country skiing, which is much cheaper.  Not the same sport, but similar.  Also, backcountry skiing obviates the need for expensive lift tickets but you get less runs in during a day.  Finally, if you live somewhere with a more locals-only ski area, lift tickets and associated costs are lower, i.e. Crested Butte over Vail.

The_Dude

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2013, 05:30:03 PM »