Author Topic: Side Income, or Free Time?  (Read 8582 times)

Donovan

• Stubble
Side Income, or Free Time?
« on: September 09, 2014, 02:16:55 PM »
I'm a web developer by trade, and I've been slowly working on a passive-ish side income site to try and increase my income and boost my savings rate. However, the more I work on it, the more it feels like a chore.  This has gotten me thinking about whether the pursuit of this side income, which doesn't have any guarantee of taking off, is worth giving up the time that I am putting into it.  Time that I could instead be devoting to something I actually like (more creative meals, music, gym time, volunteering), even if it makes me no money in the short term.  I should note, I've got no actual love of the project. I was simply trying to find a small way to increase my own income while we wait for my wife to finish grad school next year and double our income by starting her career.

Has anyone else faced a choice like this?  I know we have several posters here with side gigs of one form or another, but have any of you purposely pursued one purely for the extra income, even if the pursuit of that income boost has a negative impact on other important parts of your life?

Gone Fishing

• Magnum Stache
  • So Close went fishing on April 1, 2016
    • Journal
Re: Side Income, or Free Time?
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2014, 02:26:24 PM »
With a full time job and two kids it is about all have to get everything done that I need to.  Every now and again an opportunity comes up to make $100 -$200 on a Saturday, but I always pass.  I need some downtime for my sanity.  My job is sufficient to get me to FIRE within a reasonable time frame.  Even if it wasn't I don't think I would sacrifice too much my family time for an extra couple hundred bucks.  One of the wonderful side effect of frugality is that it usually results in us getting MORE time together.