Author Topic: Side hustles?  (Read 4607 times)

webcat86

• Stubble
Side hustles?
« on: October 15, 2015, 12:07:12 PM »
I know these are popular around here and I was hoping to have a discussion about what people do or have done. Im partly curious and partly looking for inspiration.

For a bit of background here, i graduated university in 2009, during the recession. I was doing some freelance book editing in my final year and continued that after leaving, and undertook a 3 month unpaid internship as an editor at a publishing company. I then did four years as a freelance editor and writer of articles, books etc. 18 months ago I got a job doing in-house PR for a firm, and six months ago we bought our first house -200k mortgage over 33 years.

We are overpaying this slightly but I worked out today if we pay 5000-8000 extra a year, starting this time next year, the mortgage will be clear in 12 years instead. Huge incentive! We had a target of 21 years so actually reducing it to that would be amazing.

So my plan is to earn that much with a side hustle, so our salaries can cover expenses and savings/investments, and side hustles exclusively hitting the mortgage.

My obvious opportunity is trying to get a few writing gigs again, and I'm also going to start offering online guitar lessons via Skype and am thinking of a course to offer for beginners. (I am available to offer these lessons from now so if anyone is interested in learning...)

My wife is open to the idea of a part time gig but has no idea what to do. She has a great camera and enjoys photography but doesn't do much, I'm sure that could change if she had a financial incentive.

So what have you guys done to earn extra?

schimt

• Bristles

Mother Fussbudget

• Pencil Stache
Re: Side hustles?
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2015, 01:44:49 PM »