Author Topic: Side Hustle - What's Yours?  (Read 10724 times)

OmahaSteph

• Pencil Stache
    • Journal: The Slow Lane to FIRE
Side Hustle - What's Yours?
« on: December 18, 2015, 07:47:49 AM »
My BF needs to supplement his income with some side hustle and I'm having a hard time coming up with suggestions for him as his skill set it sort of non-practical.

His daytime job is large-scale logistics, inventory, slotting, etc. and he almost has his BA in the same (also, he's 47, just FYI). He is a bicycle commuter, so I suggested learning some repair skills, perfecting those skills and then offering them to others at a fair price (we live in bike-friendly region) but he's not the most mechanically inclined. He can cook, but not professionally.

I'm a technical proposal writer by day and I have two degrees in English/Professional Writing & Editing, so I've published four novels, (royalties) plus I edit for a small publisher when I can (royalties there, too).

I'd love to hear what other people do for their side hustles!

lthenderson

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Side Hustle - What's Yours?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2015, 07:50:16 AM »
I make and sell custom made fountain and ballpoint pens out of deer antler. A tabletop lathe and a set of chisels is all the capital I have for this venture.

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2015, 08:54:26 AM »
I'm considering panhandling.

I've done some back of the napkin calculations based on the amount of traffic we get in some off-ramps in our area and the number of people who give money . . . and I'm willing to bet that you make 50-100$ an hour during the busiest two hour period in the evening.

HPstache

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2015, 08:56:45 AM »
I think there's an already existing giant thread somewhere around here with everyone's side hustle... But I'll post mine up anyway.  I design and manufacture specialty car parts.

OmahaSteph

• Pencil Stache