Author Topic: Shoving Mustachianism Down His Throat  (Read 9282 times)

lifejoy

• Magnum Stache
  • Lovin' the Mustachian life!
    • Not Buying This
Shoving Mustachianism Down His Throat
« on: March 07, 2013, 08:08:36 PM »
Hi. I've been dating my bf for 1.5 years, and he's "the one".

He's on a career path that is going to make him a solid amount of money. (~100,000/year or more) He has ~$80,000 in student debt & consumer debt. (His consumer debt is largely related to his career path.)

I'm a new graduate, and while I'm making about $24,000/year right now, I'm working half-time and in a year or two could reasonably expect to make $40-60,000. I have $17,000 in debt (student loan + parental loan).

Because his future earnings are so promising, he has no problem "enjoying the moment" and going on trips, eating out often, and in general spending his money as he wishes. And that's fine! Except that I would like to blend my life with his, and I've become a die-hard Mustachian.

My boyfriend is a great guy. He has agreed to let this March be our Money Madness Mustachian Month! So we are following a nice tight budget, and having fun while doing it. :)

My problem is this: it's hard to date someone when their financial tendencies are so different from your own! I feel like the fun police when I say "no" to going out for dinner and "no" to going on fun trips. I say no a lot, even though I offer cheaper still-fun alternatives.

I'm in emergency debt repayment mode! I have my own student loan to contend with. And I won't let my bf foot the bill for dinners or trips, because I know very well that he has a boatload of student loan to contend with. His defense is that when he gets home from working so hard at work (he works long hours, in a physically/mentally/emotionally demanding job) he wants to relax and reward himself. Hence the dinners out and trips away.