Author Topic: Should we move out of Seattle?  (Read 31742 times)

zippyc

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should we move out of Seattle?
« on: July 21, 2014, 10:40:50 PM »
Hi there!

I've been reading the blog from the beginning and it's definitely adding to some of my ideas of what to do for our financial standing. My husband works for a large US retail establishment as a store manager. He's been with the company since he was 16 years old. He currently grosses about $95 per year (including bonus, so this can fluctuate), but only takes home about $5000 per month (taxes, medical, 401K, stock options).

I used to be an insurance agent, but was laid off about 3 years ago, which was a blessing for me at the time. We have 2 kids (6, 8) and I've been staying home with them and doing little side gigs from time to time. Currently I am just starting an online job for a friend and hope to be netting $1000 per month by January (I also receive about $300 in insurance renewals per month).

Other than both of our sizeable 401K's, we have no savings. The good news is that, other than our mortgage, we also have no debt. I feel super lucky to be able to stay home at this point (especially in expensive Seattle), and we have seen noticeable improvements in our kids since I started doing so, however we are still finding it tight and like we are living paycheck to paycheck around here.

I began suffering from wanderlust and SADS about 4-5 years ago. I was born and raised in Seattle and I'm ready to move on. My husband, however, moved here about 14 years ago from Chicago and loves it here. Until recently, living month to month felt ok to him, as he prefers not to make big changes.