Author Topic: Should we give up our high incomes for a better quality of life?  (Read 6717 times)

Joy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello Mustachians!  I am here seeking some advice.  My husband and I (ages 48 and 38) would like to relocate to the Raleigh North Carolina area with our two little ones (ages 5 and 7) in search of low cost housing, better schools, a safer neighborhood and better weather.  We are increasingly unhappy with big city living and the crime and stress that comes with it.  However, moving would greatly reduce our income.  We currently live in a high cost of living area and our salaries reflect that.  We live frugally and bank a large percentage or our earnings.  I am a teacher and starting over in a North Carolina School system would result in my pay dropping 50%.  My husband is self-employed as a private dog trainer.  He has worked hard to build his business over the past 15 years and is very busy and able to charge top rates.  But, we have been told that the market for dog trainers in the Raleigh area is saturated and we are unsure if he would be able to rebuild his business to where it is now. 
We could stick it out here for two to five more years and continue to save, so that we could be FI before we move, but we are growing increasingly impatient.  This is in large part due to the school system that I work for and that my children attend.  The system is currently under resourced and facing further cuts.  My children’s education is suffering and it makes my work very difficult. 
So, I would love to hear what you think about us giving up our high incomes for a potentially better quality of life. 
Here is where we would be with our savings and debts if we moved at the end of this school year (I plan to withdraw my pension contributions and add them to my IRA, and sell my house to increase my cash savings):

Retirement:         336K
Cash savings:     172K (includes the 150K in equity from selling house)
529 plans:            40K