Author Topic: Should I trade in my car for something smarter?  (Read 4953 times)

innkeeper77

• Bristles
Should I trade in my car for something smarter?
« on: March 12, 2013, 02:37:15 PM »
Hello! I am new here, but I LOVE reading the blog and forums. I registered to ask a fairly specific question: Should I trade in my car? And for what? It (my car) isn't very efficient or spacious, and there have to be better options.

My car is a paid off 2007 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport wagon (5 speed manual) with 69000 miles, with a carmax offer for it as of today was $8500. My mileage is around 27 MPG combined, and never above 29 MPG. (Even driving 60 MPH with cruse control on for the whole tank, with AC off...)

My situation: I am a full time student graduating next year. My savings are minimal, but so is my debt. Without the car my total net worth is around $3000.. not great, but it is slowly growing. My girlfriend is completely on board with mustachianism, and we have slashed expenses as much as possible, but until I graduate we still have to live a long distance apart, meaning I will continue drive a fair amount, and we have separate rent expenses.

Should I get a new car? Which one? Will I hate every shift, or are there cheap yet solid options out there?  I do love the feel of my car, and wouldnt want the quality of a replacement to be significantly worse. I test drove a Honda Fit today, and I loved the small engine, and space. The think made my Subaru's storage capacity look abysmal. However, it had a gearbox that was very clunky and not at all solid like I am used to. (Perhaps this was a single isolated problem case?)
« Last Edit: March 14, 2013, 11:22:17 AM by innkeeper77 »

Spork

• Walrus Stache
    • Spork In The Eye
Re: Should I trade in my car for something smarter?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2013, 02:46:37 PM »
27 mpg isn't awful.