Author Topic: Should I take a temporary paycut to transition into IT management?  (Read 3263 times)

Bearded Man

• Handlebar Stache
Facts:

-I generally like where I work (good hours, good pay/benefits, easy work, well liked), and am padding my bank account each year.

-My reasons for looking are more that I'm burntout on doing hands on technical work and would rather deal with people and in the long run, I can make more money in senior management positions than I can in engineering positions, etc. (I was a manager long ago so I have some experience).

-I've had several offers for more money/management positions, but turned them down due to red flags that came up when I vetted the jobs.

-I could stay where I'm at, comfortable, routine, get my MBA in about a year, and then keep looking where I will be certain to find something again (I consistently get offers).

-Or I could take a pay cut from 115K salary to 70K salary and take what appears to be an easy IT Management gig at a local University and either ride that train for a long time since it's easy work not burn out work (everyone there has worked there for decades or more) OR...use it to transition to a higher paying management gig down the road. I see a lot of IT Manager/Director jobs in the area in the 150-170 range.

-I would not feel TOO bad passing up this opportunity, since I have had three offers in this lower pay range for IT Management gigs; they seem to be easier to get since less people want them due to the lower pay.

-I've also had offers paying 140K but turned them down due to things I found out when I vetted the companies.