Author Topic: should I return to school?  (Read 2163 times)

porterboy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
should I return to school?
« on: December 13, 2017, 02:14:41 PM »
Hi there! I am new to MMM forums, and generally new to MMM. I'll cut to the chase: I'm trying to figure out whether it makes sense for me to return to school for an online Master's degree, while working full-time. Some background...I'm married with one toddler and another likely on the way within the next two years. I have a very well paying job for my field (GIS) due to it being classed the same as IT developer salaries. I am very interested in web development and programming (specific to GIS & mapping) and have had very little training in it. I plan to stay in my current position for at least 5 years to take advantage of our pension, but my hope is that one day I find a fully remote opportunity so my family and I can move somewhere rural. The Master's program I am looking at would definitely open doors for not necessarily higher salaries (since my current situation is unique) but I would likely have my pick of positions in various locations (so even if I don't find something 100% remote, my family could move to a more ideal location). The program costs $26,000, and would take 2.5 years (since I'd be doing it part-time). My employer only reimburses $5200 a year. So, over $10,000 would be paid out of pocket. Not a huge chunk of money but we finally just gained savings momentum having paid off my $36,000 in student loans about a month ago and opening 457s, I'm feeling a bit gunshy to big expenses! Also, we pay $17,000 a year in childcare (not willing to change this...we live in a high cost state for childcare and we've found a place we love & trust), and with the thought of another kiddo coming soon, that will be taking up even more of our savings potential. Any suggestions either way? I'm happy to provide more info if needed. Thanks!

wordnerd

• Handlebar Stache
Re: should I return to school?