Author Topic: Should I quit a high paying job if I hate it?  (Read 10714 times)

SnakeEyes

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should I quit a high paying job if I hate it?
« on: February 13, 2017, 12:45:56 PM »
Hello,

I'm new to posting here but I've been reading these blogs for a couple years now. Like most of you my dream is to one day be financial independent. I don't necessarily mean that I won't work, but I want to have the freedom to work on things I enjoy rather than work that I have to do to survive. There's a lot of endeavors I would love to be pursuing in my life but unfortunately things I really enjoy don't pay much.

So here's my current situation. I've been working in the IT field for almost 20 years. I make a yearly salary of about 101k including bonuses. I'm very good at my job and highly valued and respected at work. The problem is I'm extremely burned out and it takes a lot for me to even get out of bed and face another day. I actually think I may be developing chronic stress as I've had some issues with high blood pressure and not being able to sleep at night. At the level I'm at I've found that the work load is often overwhelming and people tend to expect a lot and demand a lot. If I still had the passion and interest in the career I probably wouldn't mind so much but I just feel like I don't care. I'm able to force myself to get through projects and tasks but I can feel I'm not performing at my best like I once did. I've thought about getting training or learning some new things in IT to apply for different roles but just nothing interests me. Actually I'm not even sure if that would help anyway because I'm just sick of the whole corporate office environment with its politics and typical BS that doesn't make any sense but we have to do it anyway.