Author Topic: Should I pay off my mortgage early?  (Read 28131 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Should I pay off my mortgage early?
« Reply #50 on: December 18, 2014, 09:13:44 PM »
We'll see. :)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

sol

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #51 on: December 19, 2014, 07:50:33 PM »
I have very little confidence that you will get a consistent 9% total return by paying off the mortgage, but you are the one with the spreadsheet.

Feel free to run your own numbers, but if paying off your mortgage is going to qualify you for free healthcare in retirement, that benefit alone might be worth more than the lost arbitrage between your mortgage rate and your expected portfolio returns.  No work required there.

The EITC is much more speculative, and also depends on the size of your family.  It's potentially worth a lot to someone with a side gig and a large family, not so much to folks who want to retire to their barcalounger.

The financial aid benefit, like the EITC, is worth more to people with multiple children.  I have three.  My preliminary analysis says we should qualify for at least an extra $4k in grant money per child per year, plus a lower interest rate on whatever loans they might decide to take out.  It's a temporary benefit, just while the kids are in school, but it's still real money.

I still think it makes sense to carry a mortgage while you are working... I choose to use my discretionary income for investing and leave my 2.875% tax deductible mortgage in place

I'm also carrying my mortgage for as long as I work.  But after I'm retired?  I think I'm going to kick it.